Archive | 8:59 am

What I believe is the first stupid thing I’ve ever done

11 May

The date is March 1983.  My mother is in labor about to pop out my brother.  I’m staying with friends nearby.  My friends just happen to be 8 and 6, 5 and 3 years older than I am.  They have an awesome room with two beds making an L shape.  They thought it would be awesome to jump from bed to bed.

The stupid part:

3 year old me thought I could join in and actually make it from bed to bed.  Sure I did make it.  A few times anyway.  Then I got stupid and jumped right after my friend had landed, compressing the bed.  I landed just as the bed rebounded, throwing me from the bed right into the corner of a metal night table.  I caught the table right in the eyebrow.

I still remember coming down their stairs and seeing nothing but red.  That’s the problem with head wounds.  They bleed.  A lot.  A. Fricken. Lot.  So for my brothers first day on earth, I joined him in the hospital after getting my eyebrow stitched together.  Once I took a good look at my little brother, I stated quite proudly, “I don’t want an Ian.  I wanted a Court-a-knee (Courtney).”  Under no circumstances did I ever want a baby brother.  I wanted a little sister.  That was the second stupid thing I had ever done.  With all the great times I’ve had with my brother, there’s no way I would have had as much fun with a little sister.  Brothers form a bond that no brother-sister relationship can touch.  Except maybe in remote parts of the Appalachians where brother-sister relationships are a completely different thing entirely.